Day 9: 1 Tip I Would Give Someone Who Wanted To (Successfully) Get Started Writing

Chase Arbeiter
1 min readJan 15, 2023

--

Do you want to start writing?

I have been writing online (inconsistently) for almost 4 years now. And what I can tell you after 250+ pieces of long-form content is that to grow on any platform, grow as a writer, and develop a voice, you have to publish daily.

So, here’s the 1 tip I would give you if you wanted to be successful at publishing daily:

Edit with a clock running.

If you spend too much time editing, you’ll never grow as a writer.

I think the first place I remember hearing this unconventional advice was from @dickiebush. He suggests setting a 10-minute timer.

Since I implemented this, my publishing rate has grown exponentially. The timer going off triggers my ‘publish muscle,’ which allows me to not think anymore about my piece.

It eliminates: How good is this? Will anybody read it? Is it missing something?

Everything you ever write, most likely, could be a little better.

But nobody will ever see your writing if you leave too much in editing.

Set a timer. Do your best. Publish.

Read this post and more on my Typeshare Social Blog

--

--

Chase Arbeiter

I write about building a better life, chasing excellence in your craft, and using your work as a catalyst for your best life.